Diwali is a Hindu festival which is celebrated with great zest and fun all over India. Throughout the country it is celebrated in ways like in Bengal people worship Goddess Kali and in North India people worship Lord Ganesha and Goddess Lakshmi on this Day. Most of the people don’t know that this famous festival of lights is celebrated for five long days. Amazed! But it’s true. And each day has its own significance. So, in this article we have shared the significance of the five days celebrations of Diwali.

Read on!

1. Dhanteras – First Day

Dhanteras – First DayImage Source:  blogspot

The celebration of this festival gets started with Dhanteras which is also known as Dhanvantari Tridasi, celebrated on the 13th day of Amavasya. On this day people worship Goddess Lakshmi and purchase silver, gold, and new utensils to welcome Goddess Lakshmi at home.

2. Naraka Chaturdashi – Second Day

Naraka Chaturdashi – Second DayImage Source:  ste.india

This day is also known as Choti Diwali and it is believed that on this day Lord Krishna killed Narakasur and made the world free from all the fears. It is also said that people on this day apply perfumed oil on their body and hair which symbolizes purification before celebrating Diwali.

3. Diwali – Third Day

Diwali – Third DayImage Source:  thehindubusinessline

This is the main day of celebration as on this day Goddess Lakshmi is worshipped and the entire house is decorated with candles, lights, rangolis, and diyas. It is said that lighting the entire house ends of darkness in one’s life. On this day people also wear new clothes and exchange gifts and enjoy this beautiful festival with family and friends.

4. Govardhan Puja- Fourth Day

Govardhan Puja- Fourth DayImage Source:  prempuri

Long time back people used to worship Lord Indra, God of rain and thunder. But one day Lord Krishna convinced people to worship the Govardhan Hill as it helped them in many ways. After hearing this Lord Indra got angry and decided to destroy Vrindavan. But Lord Krishna saved everything by holding the Govardhan Hill on his little finger. And from that day people perform this puja.

5. Bhai Dooj- Fifth Day

Bhai Dooj- Fifth DayImage Source:  i1.wp

The story behind this celebration is very interesting. It is said that Lord Yama visited his sister, Yamuna on this day and also promised her to visit every year to bless her and save her from all the sins. And on Bhai Dooj celebration, sisters apply tilak on their brother’s forehead and they also exchange gifts.

And with this, the five long day celebration of Diwali marks its end. But during this festive season what’s more important is to celebrate this beautiful festive with the loved one and make countless memories. With this wishing you all a very happy Diwali.


Cloth Beauty